Vegan Pasta Primavera

Remember that time I said mexican food is my weakness…. well my other weakness is cheesy, gluttonous pasta. (oh and chocolate…. I have a lot of weaknesses…) Like I have also mentioned before, dairy and I aren’t on the greatest of terms. I still indulge but wanted to find something to satisfy the craving. Have you heard of nutritional yeast? I used it in my Vegan Mac and Cheese recipe but didn’t really understand it’s true star power until this recipe. Not only does it add a cheesy flavor to dishes it is also chalked full of NUTRITION. (I guess I should have realized that from the name but I digress.)

5 Surprising Facts about Nutritional Yeast

  • It’s a vegetarian source of Vitamin B12. Vitamin B12 is so important and most sources are animal based so this is a big deal.
  • It’s high in Protein.
  • It’s high in Fiber. Fiber helps regulate our blood sugar. A tiny serving of nutritional yeast has 3 grams of Fiber.
  • It’s Gluten Free.
  • It’s high in Folic Acid. All my mamas and mama-to-bes know how important folic acid is for us and especially in preventing things like spina bifida in our babies.

Ingredients

  • 18oz whole wheat pasta (I used penne)
  • 1 head of broccoli; chopped
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 red onion; chopped
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 8 oz sliced mushrooms
  • 2 zucchinis; sliced and quartered
  • 1 red bell pepper; diced
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup fresh basil; chopped (divided)
  • 1/4 cup starchy pasta water
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Pine nuts for topping

Cook pasta and broccoli until just al dente and then strain. (Save 1/4 cup of the pasta water.)

img_2375

Saute the red onion. garlic, bell pepper and zucchini in the olive oil for 3-4 minutes. Then add the mushrooms and continue cooking.

img_2379

After a few minutes add the cans of tomatoes and 1/2 of the basil. Saute for 2 minutes. Then add in the broccoli and pasta. Add in the starchy water and the nutritional yeast. COmbine and then cover. Let it sit for 5 minutes.

img_2382

Top with fresh basil and pine nuts.

img_2387

Leave a Reply

