Meatless Lentil Loaf

I have never been a fan of meatloaf. I have always found it dry and unappetizing. The only exception was my sister in laws meatloaf which is ridiculously good. Any way while searching for other vegan recipes I kept coming across lentil loafs. It had so many veggies and a ton of protein I knew I needed to make it for my family. Any way I can get protein and veggies into my littles is a huge win. Eleanor LOVED this meal. She devoured it for dinner and lunch the next two days! Total win for this mama! We served us with left over raw vegetables and dip but it would also be great with a baked potato or roasted sweet potatoes.

Ingredients 

  • 3/4 cup green lentils; cooked according to directions
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 a yellow onion; chopped
  • 2 carrots; peeled and sliced
  • 2 stalks of celery; sliced
  • 8 oz sliced mushrooms
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce
  • 1.25 tsp thyme
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 flax egg*
  • 1/2 cup almond meal**

Glaze Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp steak sauce of choice
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar

*1 tablespoon flax seed with 3 tbsps water

** you can simply grind up almonds to get almond mill

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and spray a loaf pan with cooking oil. Put olive oil in a large pan and saute onion for 5 minutes over medium heat. Add the garlic, celery, and carrots. Cook for 5 more minutes then add in the mushrooms and cook for about 8 more minutes until all the vegetables are tender.

Pour the cooked vegetables, 1 cup of the cooked lentils, 1/2 a cup of oats, tomato paste, soy sauce, worcestershire sauce, thyme, and some salt and pepper. Process just a few seconds to combine but not completely puree. I used my blendtec which wasn’t the greatest idea but it still worked out fine.

img_2326

Put the mixture into a bowl and add the rest of the lentils, oats, almond mill and the flax egg. Stir the ingredients together to fully combine. Pour the contents into the loaf pan forming a loaf shape as you go.

Combine the glaze ingredients together.

img_2325

Pour over the loaf, and then place into oven. Bake for 40-45 minutes. It is done when a fork comes out clean. Let it coul for 10 minutes before cutting.

img_2341

2 thoughts on “Meatless Lentil Loaf

  1. At my age I don’t know if I can learn to cook a new way. What is fax egg, sound like an egg that didn’t make the grade. But I’m going to try some these recipes .

    Like

Leave a Reply

