Balsamic Tofu Quinoa Bowl

The day I made this was when we hadn’t made it to the grocery store in about a week and a half so I was scrambling for something to make. I told Garren I wanted to call this recipe the “Leftover Grocery Bowl,” but he said that did not sound appetizing and that I want people to actually make my food. I suppose he does have a point! Full disclosure: my three year old HATED this. Infact she ended up throwing up when I asked her to eat 3 more bites. The next day when I asked her what she wanted me to make for her birthday dinner she said, “Not what we ate last night!” Huge mom fail, but the baby, husband and I loved it!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quinoa; prepared accordingly
  • 3 red potatoes; cubed
  • 4 oz baby carrots
  • 1/2 bunch of kale
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 pkg extra firm tofu
  • 2 cups balsamic
  • 2 tbsp olive oil; separated
  • 2 tsp italian seasoning; separated
  • Salt and Pepper

 

Press the liquid out of the tofu by wrapping it in a paper towel and pressing on it with a heavy pan. Cut into cubes.

img_2102

Combine the balsamic vinegar, 1 tbsp olive oil, tsp Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. Put the tofu in the bowl and allow to marinate for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a pan with cooking spray and spread the tofu out. Cook for 15 minutes, flip the tofu pieces and cook for 15 more minutes. While that cooks cut the veggies and place in a plastic bag with the remaining oil, Italian seasoning and salt and pepper. Remove tofu from pan, crank the heat up on the oven to 425 degrees and cook the veggies/potatoes for 20 minutes on the same pan you used for the tofu. (Until carrots and potatoes are cooked through)

Place cooked quinoa in bowl and top with the tofu and veggies. Add some of the balsamic marinade on top and enjoy! (Unless you are Blair….)

img_2110

Leave a Reply

