Coconut Peanut Butter Granola Bars

My toddler asks for a snack approximately 137 times every hour. I won’t lie, it drives me a little bonkers. In fact I think the word “snack” may be my least favorite word in the english language. I have been searching for some yummy recipes for snack to have on hand and after looking at granola bar recipes I decided to try making my own. These have a lot of good fat and are made of all real ingredients which is perfect for my littles. I just have to hide them from myself so I don’t eat all of them in one day. (Yes they are THAT good)

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup oat flour*
  • 1/2 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 flax eggs (2 tbsp flax seed + 6 tbsp warm water)
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
  • 2 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup vegan dark chocolate chips (optional)
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans (optional)

*If you don’t have oat flour simply put some oats in the blender or food processor and ground up until a powdery flour is created.

In a large bowl add the oats, oat flour, coconut flakes, and salt. Whisk to combine.

img_2076

In a small glass or bowl combine the flaxseed and water. Allow to sit for 3 minutes.

img_2075

In a medium sized bowl combine the peanut butter, maple syrup, coconut oil, vanilla and the flax seed mixture. Combine thoroughly.

img_2077

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and combine completely. Fold in the chocolate chips and pecans.

img_2078

Put parchment paper in a 9×9 ( I used a 9×13 inch pan and it doesn’t work quite as well) inch pan and dump the mixture into it. Press firmly.

img_2079

Put in freezer for 20 minutes to allow them to harden. Flip it out onto a cutting board and cut them into bars.

img_2081

Store in an airtight container in the fridge for a week or freeze for up to 2-3 months.

img_2088

Leave a Reply

