Vegan Crusty Soup Bread

I don’t know how your winter’s are going but ours have been one snowstorm after another. Before moving to Idaho I had friends and family assure me that it snowed very little in the Boise area and even when it did it would be melted by the next afternoon. Lies. All lies. I will give them the benefit of the doubt as they are also all losing their minds because this is so uncommon, but I feel like I am back in New Hampshire. A few weeks ago our friends invited us over for some soup and homemade bread. This is the bread she made and let me tell you it’s PERFECT for soup.  Only 4 ingredients, no kneading, and a fairly quick baking time. The longest part of the process is allowing it to rise over night.I decided to use bread flour instead of all purpose and I am so glad I did. It works fine with all purpose but the bread flour gives it an amazing texture. I have a soup recipe being posted next monday that goes perfectly with this bread. I made it last week and my husband hasn’t stopped talking about it since. I will probably need to make it again ASAP.

Ingredients

  • 4 cups bread flour
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 tsp active yeast
  • 1 scant tsp salt

 

Spray a large bowl with cooking oil. Add all 4 ingredients and mix well until fully combined.

img_2063

Once combined spray a piece of saran wrap and place over bowl. Allow to rise over night.

img_2066

The next morning preheat the oven to 450 degrees. You will need a ceramic pot with lid, a dutch oven or roasting pan. (It has to have a lid and be oven safe) Place the pan in the oven while it preheats. Dump the dough out onto a piece of parchment paper and allow it to rise while the oven preheats.

img_2002

Once the oven is preheated remove the pan and place the parchment paper/dough inside. Replace the lid and bake for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes remove the lid and bake for 15 more minutes.

img_2013

It will have a nice golden crust and be soft and airy on the inside. Perfect of dipping in soup.

img_2017

One thought on “Vegan Crusty Soup Bread

  1. Pingback: Vegan Corn Chowder

Leave a Reply

