Creamy Coconut Lentil Curry

Garren and I have been married for almost 6 years and for the first 5 he was always talking about Curry. I have always been adventurous when it came to food and so far have only found one thing I absolutely hate (I’m looking at you oysters) but for some reason I have never been interested in curry. When we first started this plant based journey I found a curry recipe and decided to surprise him. The moment he walked into the door he said, “Do I smell curry?” I don’t know why I waited so long, curry has been a weekly staple in our house ever since!

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp coriander seeds
  • 1 tbsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 (28 oz) can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp minced ginger
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp turmeric
  • 2 tsp sea salt
  • 4 tsp Better than Bouillon Vegetable Base + 4 cups of water
  • 1 cup green lentils
  • 1 (15 oz) can coconut milk
  • 1 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1-2 cups halved cherry tomatoes

Serve on basmati rice, quinoa, or with naan bread.

Put the coconut oil in a large pot and add the coriander and cumin seeds. Toast for 30-60 seconds and then add the garlic and ginger. Cook for another 2 minutes.

img_1588

Add the can of crushed tomatoes, brown sugar, turmeric, and sea salt to the pot, cook for 5 minutes while periodically stirring the pot.

img_1589

Add the lentils and vegetable broth mixture, bring to a boil and then reduce heat to low. Cover the pot with a lid and let simmer for 35-40 minutes. Stir periodically to make sure the lentils don’t stick to the bottom.

img_1597

While that is cooking chop the cilantro and halve the tomatoes.

img_1595

I love to cook but for some reason the moment I enter the kitchn my two angels turn into mommy obsessed demons so I always end up with an assistant. This doesn’t bother me though because I love that I am teaching my girls to find joy in GOOD food and to be self sufficient. (I can’t believe how many people I met in college who didn’t know how to cook!)

img_1600

Once the lentils are cooked through and tender add the coconut milk and cherry tomatoes. Bring back up to a simmer and then remove from heat. Stir in the cilantro and serve.

img_1602

This meal gets my kids stamp of approval

3 thoughts on “Creamy Coconut Lentil Curry

Leave a Reply

