Vegan Coconut Chia Seed Breakfast Cookie

Let me set the stage. It’s 7am and my toddler crawls into bed with me and I hand her my phone so she can watch a movie while I try and wake up (or you know… sleep longer). The baby is still peacefully sleeping. Fast forward 45 minutes and the baby just threw up all over the carpet and the toddler starts gagging at the sight and then proceeds to throw up herself. This is why I forget to eat breakfast most days. Too much going on and too many places to be. (Or too much puke to clean up) So I decided I needed to meal prep a little bit. I had see quite a few recipes for “breakfast cookies” and decided to make my own. (Any excuse to eat cookies!) These are delicious, filling, and something quick to grab in the morning.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 medium ripe banana; mashed
  • 1 flax egg ( 1 tbsp flax seed + 3 tbsp water)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup of coconut flakes
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Toast the coconut flakes in a dry skillet for 3-4 minutes . Set aside to allow time to cool.

img_1884

Add peanut butter, maple syrup, banana, flax egg, and vanilla to a large bowl. Mix until combined. Add the oats, baking powder, and salt and stir together. Fold in the toasted coconut and chia seeds.

Spoon dough onto parchment paper; about 2 tablespoons per cookie.

img_1895

Cook for 15-18 minutes until edges are golden brown. Remove from oven and allow to cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack. I store mine in the refrigerator and heat for 15 seconds in the microwave when I eat them. Enjoy!

img_1904

Leave a Reply

