Easy Vegan Naan Bread

When it comes to eating curry I don’t think there is anything better than warm naan bread on the side. I have always been lazy and just bought some at the store but decided to try my hand at making my own. I tried a few different recipes and ended up adapting/combining quite a few of them to make this vegan version. Blair and I loved this experiment. Every day she would wake up from her nap and we would test one (or three). Now when I walk into her room after her nap she says, “I need some naan!”.

This bread is perfect. Soft and warm with the best chewy texture. I hope you enjoy it!

Ingredients 

  • 1 pkg (or 2 1/4 tsp) dry active yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed combined with 3tbsp water (1 “flaxegg”)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 4-4.5 cups of bread flour
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic (optional but trust me you want it!)
  • melted vegan butter or olive oil

In a bowl add the warm water to the yeast. Let it sit for 10 minutes or until it becomes frothy. img_0579

Next add the the sugar, salt, “flaxegg”, baking soda, almond milk, and enough flour to create a soft dough. (I use the paddle attachment on my kitchen aid on the slowest speed) Once it’s incorporated it should look something like this:

img_0582

Knead dough on a floured surface for 5 minutes the roll into a ball and place into a well oiled bowl. Let rise for 1 hour until it has doubled in size. Once it has doubled punch down the dough and incorporate the minced garlic. This will make the texture of the dough a little harder to work with but I promise it’s worth it. Pinch of small balls and put on a baking tray. Let rise for an hour until they have doubled in size.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Roll out the balls and paint on melted vegan butter or olive oil and place that side down on hot cast iron skillet (medium heat). I place a lid over the skillet as it seems to help the bubbles form. Cook for 1-2 minutes, layer the top with butter and flip. Cook that side for 1-2 minutes as well.

Take off skillet and allow to cool slightly then enjoy! These also freeze perfectly.

 

 

img_0602

Later this week I will post one (of the many) curry recipes we have been making recently!

I would love to know if you try this recipe and how you like it! (Tag me @allplantmama and use the hashtag #allplantmama) So excited to see hear what you think.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Easy Vegan Naan Bread

  1. Pingback: Red Lentil Curry

Leave a Reply

